Were you injured in a hit-and-run accident? Are you frustrated that the other driver fled the scene? After all, how can you get the compensation you’re owed if you don’t have the other driver’s insurance information? Even if you were able to get details like the car’s license plate number or make and model, you have to hope that the authorities can track down the wrongdoer. You might be left wondering how long after a hit-and-run the police will contact you.
The Mississippi car accident lawyers at Derek L. Hall, PC can help if you have been injured by a hit-and-run driver. Whether or not the driver is eventually found, we can explain your options for recovering compensation. We have more than two decades of personal injury experience and will defend your rights to the best of our ability. Contact us today for a free consultation.
Mississippi Hit-and-Run Laws
According to Section 63-3-401 of the Mississippi Code, any driver involved in an accident that results in injury or death must stop their vehicle as close to the accident scene as is safely possible. Anyone who flees the scene of an accident involving an injury or death can be punished by 30 days to 20 years in prison, depending on the severity of the injuries sustained by the driver who did not flee. The hit-and-run driver may also face a fine of $100 to $10,000.
Section 63-3-405 of the Mississippi Code states that any driver who injures another person in an accident must provide their name, address, and vehicle registration number. If asked, the driver must also show their license to the injured party. Drivers must provide reasonable assistance to anyone injured in an accident. Calling 911 is usually enough to satisfy this requirement of the law.
How Long After a Hit-and-Run Will the Police Contact You?
The length of time for the police’s hit-and-run investigation depends on one critical factor: how much information the police have about the other driver and their vehicle. If you were able to get detailed information on the other driver and their vehicle, the police will have more to work with and have a better chance of finding the other driver.
If you couldn’t get much information on the other driver or their vehicle before they fled, the odds of finding the other driver are not as good. You should still report the accident to the police and give them as much information as you can. But without much information to work with, they will likely have a hard time identifying and apprehending the other driver.
Unfortunately, there is no firm timeline for a hit-and-run accident investigation in Mississippi. Police can sometimes find hit-and-run drivers in just hours or days if you can give them the vehicle’s license plate number or other critical information. If they don’t have much evidence, finding the other driver may take several weeks or months. In many cases, hit-and-run drivers are never found.
As the police conduct their investigation, they should provide you with updates, generally within two to four weeks. However, when you receive the first update and how frequently you receive any subsequent updates will depend on factors like the particular department’s responsiveness, how busy they are with other cases, and whether they have any leads in your case.
How Do Police Find a Hit-and-Run Driver?
There are several methods police can use to find hit-and-run drivers, such as the following:
- Reviewing surveillance footage from nearby traffic cameras or other nearby security systems
- Checking the driver’s license plate number and comparing it to state records
- Searching for the vehicle based on its color, make, and model
- Looking for the driver based on their physical description
- Gathering information from eyewitnesses, if there are any
- Analyzing the damage to your vehicle and looking for corresponding damage on another car
How to Help in the Hit-and-Run Investigation Process
There are a few ways you can help police during a hit-and-run investigation, such as the following:
- Write down anything you remember about the driver and their vehicle as soon as possible, as these details may fade in the days and weeks after the accident. Try to note the vehicle’s license plate number, color, make, and model.
- Note any nearby traffic or surveillance cameras that may have recorded the accident.
- Tell the police about any damage the other vehicle may have sustained, which may help them identify the car.
- Ask any eyewitnesses who saw the accident to share any information they have with you and the police.
- Let the police know about any additional details you remember after making the initial accident report.
Injured in a Mississippi Hit-and-Run? Talk to a Hit-and-Run Accident Lawyer in Jackson, MS
The Mississippi hit-and-run lawyers at Derek L. Hall, PC, know how aggravating these kinds of traffic collisions can be. We want to help you recover the money you’re owed. If the hit-and-run driver is eventually found, we can assist you with filing an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit against them so you can hold them accountable for your injuries. If the other driver is not found, we can help you find other options to recover compensation, such as filing an uninsured motorist claim with your own insurer.
We may still be able to get compensation for you, even if the hit-and-run driver cannot be located. Want to know how? Contact Derek L. Hall, PC for a free consultation with a Mississippi car accident lawyer. Let us show you how we can get you more.